Have you ever wondered what toothpaste really is? What’s the secret ingredient that makes your gnashers shine like stars? What makes that sweet foaming action? And how your breath stays so minty fresh? As my project continues I am discovering more and more about what goes into the products which I use every day and this week my challenge came in plastic tube form; TOOTHPASTE!


Looking at the list of ingredients my mind boggles; what the hell is titanium dioxide?! Or PVM/MA copolymer?! Doing the only thing I know  in these situations, I Googled it!  It turns out that most of these unprenouncables are pretty undesirable too, and most definitely NOT what I want in my gob! The list ranges from white paint to washing detergent (to get that good old frothy feeling) and a gluey type substance to stick it all on your teeth. Yum! Suddenly the good old friendly toothpaste starts to look rather ominous.


In light of these discoveries this week my housemates became (willing) human guinnea pigs! Our bathroom is slowly filling up with an assortment of jars full of curious looking powders, pastes and scrubs and I found a simple recipe for a homemade and natural toothpaste…


HOW TO MAKE COCONUT OIL TOOTHPASTE (enough for a week)

  • 3 table spoons of pure cold pressed coconut oil
  • 3 table spoons of ordinary Bicarb of soda
  • 3/4 drops of essential oil (I chose peppermint for its minty freshness!)

That’s it! It’s so easy!  Just mix the equal parts coconut oil and baking soda in a bowl with the essential oil. I then transferred mine into a old jar (sterilised) and have been using a mini butter knife to scoop it onto my toothbrush.

In all honesty the flavour takes a bit of getting used to, without the froth and the sweetener the vibe is totally different but just knowing that the ingredients are natural and that I beat the plastic tube makes the victory all the sweet that I need! What’s more our teeth are clean and after a week most of the house are converted! No more painty teeth, no more plastic!

